

For Release: March 27th 2023

The 5th College LD Grand Prix was held March 25th and 26th by the University of North Texas Debate Team and the Lincoln-Douglas Debate Coaches Association.

The tournament hosted Lincoln Douglas Debate using the topic and event rules of the National Forensics Association in three divisions: Open, Junior Varsity, and Novice. The Coaches Association was comprised of Parker Hopkins of Truman State University, Chad Meadows of Western Kentucky University, Mary Talamantez of Lewis and Clark College, John Boyer of Lafayette College, Louie Petit of the University of North Texas, Noel Massarelli of John Carrol University, Eric Morris of Missouri State University, Shanna Carlson of Illinois State University, and Justin Kirk of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

The tournament results were as follows:

In the Open division the University of Nebraska – Lincoln (Nicholas Wallenburg) won on a 3-2 decision over Western Kentucky University (Andre Swai.) The judges in the final round were Kamren Cohen*, Emily Jackson, Kevin Krouse, Martin Osborn, and Emily Unruh*.

In the Junior Varsity division Washburn University (Hunter Squires) won on a 3-0 decision over Missouri State University (Jake Shew.) The judges in the final round were Ayyah Al-jibouri, Justin Kirk, and Matt Stannard.

In the Novice division Illinois College (Ali Daoud) won on a 2-1 decision over Western Kentucky University (Julie Mishchuk.)The judges in the final round were Ayyah Al-jibouri, Matthew Parnell, and Zach Thornhill*.

The top speaker of the Open Division was Joseph Wofford of the University of North Texas

The top speaker of the Junior Varsity Division was Nevin Butler of the University of Nebraska – Lincoln

The top speaker of the Novice Division was Yina Todd of Central Michigan University.

The Combined Sweepstakes winners were:

- 1st Western Kentucky University
- 2nd Washburn University
- 3rd University of Nebraska-Lincoln

The Open Sweepstakes winners were:

- 1st Western Kentucky University
- 2nd University of North Texas
- 3^{rd} Washburn University



Several other awards were given for season long success:

The 2023 LD Coaches Association All-American Team

Nebraska-Lincoln Nicholas Wallenburg Western Kentucky Andre Swai Truman State Alicia Stout Lafayette Josh Hale Western Kentucky Tanya Prabhakar North Texas Holden Bukowsky Central Michigan Tyler Tobias Washburn Cade Blenden Washburn Carlos Cedillo-Silva Nebraska-Lincoln Zein Saleh

The 2023 LD Coaches Association Coach of the Year

Justin Kirk of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln

The 2023 LD Coaches Association Emerging Debaters of the Year

Yina Todd of Central Michigan University Matthew Stroud of California State University-Fullerton Julie Mishchuk of Western Kentucky University

The 2023 LD Coaches Association Judge of the Year

Evan Grisham of Western Kentucky University

National Debate Scholar - Summa Cum Laude

Alicia Stout - Truman State Josh Hale - Lafayette Ben Herman - Lafayette Yina Todd - Central Michigan Rose Thompson - Lewis and Clark Natalie Brant - Central Michigan Laken Kincaid - John Carroll Samantha Nava - Texas State Nicholas Wallenburg - Nebraska-Lincoln Antonina Clementi - Western Kentucky Julie Mishchuk - Western Kentucky Connor Rada - Illinois State Holden Bukowsky - North Texas Zachary Jones - North Texas



National Debate Scholar - Magna Cum Laude

Elijah Baum - Truman State Anne Smith - Lewis and Clark Andre Swai - Western Kentucky Taylor Dougherty - North Texas

National Debate Scholar - Cum Laude

Tyler Tobias - Central Michigan Taylor Tate -Texas State Amber Tannehill - Nebraska-Lincoln Tanya Prabhakar - Western Kentucky Miles Morton - Western Kentucky Joseph Wofford - North Texas

Twenty universities participated in the tournament:

Central Michigan University Florida State University California State University – Fullerton The University of Illinois – Urbana Champaign Illinois College Illinois State University John Carroll University Lafayette College Lewis and Clark College The University of Minnesota Missouri State University Missouri Valley College The University of Northern Iowa Pennsylvania State University Texas State University Truman State University University of Nebraska - Lincoln University of North Texas Washburn University Western Kentucky University

Contact: chad@ldgrandprix.com